Tags

, , , , ,

threshold

noun thresh·old \ˈthresh-ˌhōld, ˈthre-ˌshōld\

Definition: the point or level at which something begins or changes

love yourself more

If any of my readers have been with me from the beginning, they know my battles with own mother.  They’ve gone on for as long as I can remember.  It’s been quite sometime since I’ve posted but today I felt compelled to do so.  Why?  Not necessarily because of recent events, but I’m certainly not discounting them.  Because I’ve hit a threshold  in life.  I have to care about ME enough not to let someone poison my life, cause drama or bring me down.  Some people thrive on hurting others yet step back to look like a victim.  I also believe there is a name for that too.  It’s narcissistic behavior.

Smear Campaign

I am a co-dependent person by nature so it’s a constant battle that is inside me.  Those traits are not always a bad thing but when they allow you to be hurt or you take on too much emotional damage and drama from others then it is a bad thing.  When it has come to my mother, it’s been a long time coming for me to see this.  But when the day came, it’s almost like I heard the flick of the switch and the light came on.

The morning of May 24th, 2016 was no different than the others.  I got ready for work and at the same time every morning I got in my car and headed toward the interstate.  Sitting at a RED light…not moving….I got rear-ended by a commercial truck.  I was hit hard enough that my sunglasses came off and ended up in the floorboard.  For a moment, I couldn’t even figure out where the brake pedal was.  Certainly, that was some kind of concussion even if a mild one.  I’ll jump to the part where I’m ok….had a neck sprain and sore back for a week and was out of work on Flexeril but I survived.

Here’s where the “collision” really happened with regard to my mother/daughter relationship.  My mother and I had a disagreement the week before and hadn’t spoken.  Not unusual.  I thought nothing of it when I dialed her number with shaking hands to let her know I’d been in an accident and needed her to call me.  It went to voice mail.  I pictured her sitting back, smirking as she listened to my cries knowing she was punishing me by not answering.  I hung up after I left the message.  As the seconds and  minutes ticked by I knew she wasn’t calling back and panic and disbelief started rolling around in my thoughts.  It was SURE she would not abandon me at a time like this.  But my Dad called.  He said my Mother had called him and said I’d been in an accident and he needed to call me.  Unbelievable!  But was it really?

I’m sure those of you that are mothers probably are reading this in shock. Or maybe you have a mother of your own that would do this.  I don’t know.  Either way, when I got home I remember sitting down and crying uncontrollably for a mother I realized didn’t care.  She didn’t know the extent of my injuries but she still didn’t care enough to find out.  That was my threshold.  The point that I knew something had to change.  It had to change within me. And it did!

You see, I’ve spent my entire life seeking the approval of a narcissistic mother and feeling as I’ve failed each and every time.  Always sending the Mother’s Day cards, the Birthday Cards, the Christmas Cards….because it was the right thing to do.  AND because I didn’t want to regret doing the right thing or doing EVERYTHING I COULD DO without leaving any stone un-turned.  But where was the threshold?  When was enough enough?  I thought I’d never run out of hope.

That

Day

I

Did.

If there was ever a proverbial straw that broke the camel’s back….that was it.  Those closest to me think it’s just another fight…I will send another card or make another phone call to apologize for….apologize for what?  Getting into an accident and wanting my mother?  Wasn’t sure what I’d be apologizing for  now.  Her birthday was August 1st….the first time in my life I didn’t stand in Hallmark looking for a card that fit my situation for how I felt about her.  Cards like that don’t exist quite frankly.  I guess I loved her because if it not for her I wouldn’t be here on this earth (although there are times I question that too) but I certainly don’t like who she is and I don’t have to be around it anymore.  It’s MY decision.  They are MY boundaries.  And I won’t LET her hurt me anymore.  Why would I purposely continue going to the same dry well looking for water when there is none.  She is void of maternal love.

On August 1st I’m sure she waited on a call from me….or checked the mail hoping for a card because that’s her power and control over me.  I call….she ignores.  I send a card…she doesn’t acknowledge because the ink wasn’t in blue or black or whatever she could use to say I failed in some way.  She’s in control and I’m made to feel belittled.

But now I realize at 41 years old I’m the one that’s in control.  I shouldn’t have to beg my mother to love me or be there for me.  I know have my boundaries and for the first time I do not feel guilty for not buying a card or calling.

What is insanity? Doing the same thing over and over expecting a different outcome.  It’s time to stop the insanity.  It was my choice all along.

Einstein_InsanityDefinition

I have learned that I’ve done nothing wrong.  I’ve just put myself in situations that continually hurt ME.  I’m not allowing it anymore.  Do I wish it were different?  Sure.  But a very special woman said to me that day on my accident “any woman is capable of having a child….but it doesn’t mean they are capable of being a mother”.  I will never forget that because it’s so true.

I  know there are more like me in this world.  Although I used to feel so alone.  There should be support groups for adult children of narcissistic parents who are incapable of loving their own children.  But at this juncture I have God and he’s my ultimate parent.

c561745c687ddb4a271a2d48f72f9b0c

So that’s my threshold, my friends.  Everyone has one and there isn’t anything wrong with loving YOU or taking care of YOU!