As an adult child of a mother that did this to me constantly, I have put up with it far too long as an adult instead of normal adult communication. I am no longer six years old and need to stop trying to fix what was not all my fault just to beg someone to talk to me. I’ve struggled to get where I am today and I will not allow myself to endure this abuse.

Don't Let The Door Hit You On The Way Out

Fotolia_42525766_Subscription_XL (Custom)Punishing By Banishing You

The silent treatment (feigned apathy; cold-shoulder; silence; distance, and ignoring you) is the worst form of emotional abuse. It is a punishment used by abusers to make you feel unimportant, not valued, not cared about and completely absent from the abuser’s thoughts.

It is used as a form of non-physical punishment and control because the abuser mistakenly thinks that if they don’t physically harm you then they are not abusers. The truth is, they are far worse at doling out abuse than the physical abuser. Silent treatment is a form of banishing someone from the abuser’s existence without the benefit of closure or a good-bye or a chance at reconciliation. In a word … it’s meant to torture someone you profess to love.

No Second Chance

Should I meet someone again who uses this tactic just once he will not get another chance. Because the silent treatment…

View original post 308 more words